Trade fairs offer companies an ideal setting to present themselves and their products to a large audience and are thus among the most effective marketing tools in B2B communication. To generate leads, it is not enough to act freely according to the motto “see and be seen”. The trade fair appearance must be subject to clear goals. Work on achieving these goals begins months before the actual trade fair – by means of pre-show marketing.

 

Meaning of pre-show marketing

At trade fairs, you compete with many other companies for the attention of visitors and thus potential customers. This makes it all the more important to secure the attention of interlocutors relevant to you even before the actual trade fair. The strategy to achieve this can be reduced to one essential component: Advertising you and your participation in the fair . The term “pre-show marketing” not only covers all the activities you use to advertise yourself and your company. A successful pre-show marketing concept also helps you to sharpen your brand message and identity, readjust your market positioning and set clear goals for your trade fair activities. Surveys from recent years indicate that exhibitors with pre-show marketing can convert their trade fair activities into more leads than those without. This makes it one of the most important pillars to secure your investment. In addition, pre-show marketing can be used to expand the target customer base and as a starting point for systematic lead generation.

 

Types of trade fairs and target groups

The marketing strategy can differ depending on the type of trade fair and the target group. The following types of trade fairs are distinguished from each other:

 

  • Trade fairs
  • In-house fairs
  • International Fair
  • Multi-sector fair
  • Digital trade fair

 

Whether it’s a digital or analogue fair, you encounter two target groups here: Visitors and other exhibitors. Both groups need to be considered when designing the communication strategy.  While at a B2B trade fair it can be assumed that visitors and exhibitors have a certain level of expertise and that the stand staff should be prepared to answer more in-depth questions, at supra-regional public trade fairs in particular it is a matter of conveying general knowledge and an explanation of the product or the market.

 

Before and during the fair

Before the trade fair, clear goals must be defined for the trade fair participation . Do you want to improve your image, win new customers or open up new markets? Depending on the overarching goal, the measures to be taken in the run-up to the trade fair also differ. In addition, it must be clear whether the goals are linked to key figures to be achieved – for example, 100 leads and the resulting 20 meetings within the first four weeks after the trade fair.

Once the goals have been set, start beating the advertising drums. Let your contacts know that you will be attending the fair, communicate topics you would like to discuss and make appointments with potential interlocutors. An important part is advertising via social media: post on LinkedIn or other platforms. Some trade fairs offer an online platform for networking and appointment management – make sure your details are correct and up to date and also use such platforms as a promotional tool. Further marketing measures in the run-up to the fair can consist of a landing page, newsletters, a modified email signature or specialist articles.

During the fair, marketing measures and advertising campaigns should not stop. Social media can be used to inform a wide audience about your activities. New technologies such as VR offer the possibility to bring your products closer to your visitors, even if they are not physically exhibited. Interactive participation options can also help to attract visitors to your stand.

 

And after the fair? Post-show marketing!

Ideally, a trade fair participation generates a large number of new contacts. In order for these to lead to projects, follow-up is required. An important point here is data utilisation.

Even before the trade fair, the question arises as to how data should be recorded and later utilised. One method is to make small protocols during the conversations and to staple the business cards to these analogue conversation protocols. For those who prefer to work digitally, there are a variety of solutions available: From QR codes, to digital business cards, to apps that cover the entire recording and utilisation process. With personalised follow-ups after the trade fair by email or phone call, you can thank people for their visit and conversation and discuss further topics. Ideally, you should send an initial email on the day of the contact and directly request a follow-up meeting.

 

Conclusion

Pre-show marketing alone is no guarantee, but it is the most important condition for your trade fair success . Stand costs, stand builders, equipment, travel expenses and catering quickly add up to several thousand euros. To make the investment worthwhile, participation in the trade fair should lead to as many leads as possible and thus a positive ROI. But most companies often lack the capacity for pre-show marketing due to their daily business. In such cases, external support from experts should be sought to help with trade fair preparation and, above all, pre-show marketing. This way, the investment and the success of the fair are secured.

But the focus must not only be on pre-show marketing. Following up on the contacts made after the fair is just as important. Thereby, pre-show marketing is not only appropriate as an exhibitor. Even if you participate as a visitor, you can adapt certain points of pre-show marketing for yourself. Regardless of whether you participate in a trade fair as an exhibitor or visitor, keep your goals realistic and only set ones that are concretely measurable.

Messen bieten Unternehmen einen idealen Rahmen, um sich und ihre Produkte einem großen Publikum zu präsentieren und gehören somit zu den effektivsten Marketinginstrumenten in der B2B-Kommunikation. Um Leads zu generieren reicht es nicht aus, frei nach dem Motto „sehen und gesehen werden“ zu agieren. Der Messeauftritt muss klaren Zielen unterliegen. Die Arbeit am Erreichen dieser Ziele beginnt schon Monate vor der eigentlichen Messe – mittels Pre-Show-Marketing.

 

Bedeutung von Pre-show-Marketing

Auf Messen konkurrieren Sie mit vielen weiteren Unternehmen um die Aufmerksamkeit der Besucher und somit potenzieller Kunden. Umso wichtiger ist es, sich schon vor der eigentlichen Messe die Aufmerksamkeit von für Sie relevanten Gesprächspartnern zu sichern. Die Strategie, um dies zu erreichen, kann auf einen wesentlichen Bestandteil reduziert werden: Werbung für Sie und Ihre Messeteilnahmemachen. Dabei werden unter dem Begriff „Pre-Show-Marketing“ nicht nur alle Aktivitäten gebündelt, mittels derer Sie Werbung für sich und Ihr Unternehmen machen. Ein erfolgreiches Marketingkonzept im Vorfeld der Messe hilft Ihnen auch dabei, Ihre Markenbotschaft und -identität zu schärfen, Ihre Marktpositionierung neu zu justieren und klare Ziele für Ihre Messeaktivitäten zu setzen. Umfragen der letzten Jahre zeigen auf, dass Aussteller mit Pre-Show-Marketing Ihre Messeaktivitäten in mehr Leads umwandeln können als solche ohne. Somit ist es einer der wichtigsten Grundpfeiler, um ihr Investment abzusichern. Zudem kann mittels Pre-Show-Marketing der Zielkundenkreis erweitert werden und dies als Startpunkt für eine systematische Leadgenerierung genutzt werden.

 

Messearten und Zielgruppen

Je nach Messetyp und Zielgruppe kann sich die Marketingstrategie unterscheiden. Es werden folgende Messetypen voneinander abgegrenzt:

 

  • Fachmessen
  • Hausmessen
  • Internationale Messe
  • Mehrbranchenmesse
  • Digitale Messe

 

Ob digitale oder analoge Messe, man begegnet hier zwei Zielgruppen: Besuchern und anderen Ausstellern. Beide Gruppen müssen bei der Ausgestaltung der Kommunikationsstrategie bedacht werden.  Während auf einer B2B-Messe davon ausgegangen werden kann, dass Besucher und Aussteller ein gewisses Fachwissen mitbringen und das Standpersonal auf tiefergehende Fragen vorbereitet sein sollte, geht es vor allem bei überregionalen Publikumsmessen um die Vermittlung allgemeinen Wissens sowie einer Erklärung des Produktes oder des Marktes.

 

Vor und während der Messe

Vor der Messe müssen klare Ziele für die Messeteilnahme definiert werden. Soll das Image gesteigert, Neukunden gewonnen oder neue Märkte erschlossen werden? Je nach übergeordnetem Ziel unterscheiden sich auch die zu treffenden Maßnahmen im Vorfeld der Messe. Zudem muss Klarheit darüber herrschen, ob die Ziele mit zu erreichenden Kennzahlen verknüpft werden – beispielsweise 100 Leads und daraus resultierend 20 Gesprächstermine innerhalb der ersten vier Wochen nach der Messe.

Sind die Ziele gesetzt, fangen Sie an die Werbetrommeln zu rühren. Teilen Sie Ihren Kontakten mit, dass Sie an der Messe teilnehmen werden, kommunizieren Sie Themen, die Sie besprechen möchten und vereinbaren Termine mit potenziellen Gesprächspartnern. Ein wichtiger Bestandteil ist das Werben über Social Media: posten Sie auf LinkedIn oder anderen Plattformen. Einige Messen bieten eine Onlineplattform zum Netzwerken und für das Terminmanagement an – stellen Sie sicher, dass Ihre Angaben korrekt und auf dem neusten Stand sind und nutzen Sie auch solche Plattformen als Werbemittel. Weitere Marketingmaßnahmen im Vorfeld der Messe können aus einer Landingpage, Newslettern, einer geänderten Email-Signatur oder Fachbeiträgen bestehen.

Während der Messe sollten die Marketingmaßnahmen und Werbekampagnen nicht abreißen. Mittels Social Media kann ein breites Publikum über Ihre Aktivitäten informiert werden. Neue Technologien wie VR bieten die Möglichkeit ihren Besuchern Produkte nahezubringen, auch wenn sie nicht physisch ausgestellt sind. Interaktive Teilnahmemöglichkeiten können zudem dabei helfen, Besucher an Ihren Stand zu locken.

 

Und nach der Messe? Post-Show-Marketing!

Im Idealfall werden durch eine Messeteilnahme eine Vielzahl neuer Kontakte generiert. Damit diese zu Projekten führen, bedarf es einer Nachverfolgung. Ein wichtiger Punkt hierbei ist die Datenverwertung.

Bereits vor der Messe stellt sich die Frage, wie Daten aufgenommen und später verwertet werden sollen. Eine Methode ist es, während der Gespräche kleine Protokolle anzufertigen und die Visitenkarten an diese analogen Gesprächsprotokolle zu tackern. Wer lieber digital arbeiten möchte, dem steht eine Vielzahl an Lösungen zur Verfügung: Von QR-Codes, über digitale Visitenkarten bis hin zu Apps, die den gesamten Aufnahme- und Verwertungsprozess abdecken. Mit personalisierten Follow-Ups nach der Messe mittels Mail oder Anruf, kann für den Besuch und das Gespräch gedankt und weitere Themen besprochen werden. Idealerweise verschicken Sie eine erste Mail bereits am Tag der Kontaktaufnahme und fragen direkt ein weiterführendes Gespräch an.

 

Fazit

Ein Pre-Show-Marketing allein ist kein Garant, jedoch die wichtigste Bedingung für Ihren Messeerfolg. Standkosten, Messebauer, Equipment, Reisekosten und Verpflegung summieren sich schnell zu mehreren Tausend Euro. Damit sich das Investment lohnt, sollte die Messeteilnahme zu möglichst vielen Leads und somit einem positiven ROI führen. Doch den meisten Unternehmen fehlt für ein Pre-Show-Marketing aufgrund des Tagesgeschäfts oftmals die Kapazität. In solchen Fällen sollte man sich externe Unterstützung von Experten holen, die bei der Messevorbereitung und vor allem dem Pre-Show-Marketing helfen. So werden die Investitionen und der Messeerfolg gesichert.

Doch darf der Fokus nicht nur auf dem Pre-Show-Marketing liegen. Die Nachverfolgung der gewonnenen Kontakte nach der Messe ist genauso wichtig. Dabei ist Marketing vor einer Messe nicht nur als Aussteller angebracht. Auch wenn Sie als Besucher teilnehmen, können Sie gewisse Punkte eines Pre-Show-Marketings für sich adaptieren. Egal ob Sie als Aussteller oder Besucher an einer Messe teilnehmen, halten Sie ihre Ziele realistisch und setzen sich nur solche, die konkret messbar sind.